BLOG #50!

I’m dedicating my 50th blog to my wonderful daughter, Hanae Rose. Here is a poem I wrote for her 13th birthday. And while you’re reading it, I’m going to be busy deleting all the really lousy posts I’ve written the last two years.

Icarus at Night

I held a thought,
then lost it.
Among the flecks
on deck of night,
I lost the speck–
impractical
and wordless–
killed by blots
of sweet dreams
blown aloft.
Enjambed
by failing lunar flight,
I rose again
from canyons cleaned
of rotted dreams;
fell into folded furrows
sown
with memories of a
sun-washed face
resembling my own.

For my daughter

June 2012

Leave a Reply

