Rosie in Bed

Birth, death, and the moments in between: all good stuff to write about.  Sometimes a good noun or verb and a simple image will get me started. Sometimes I need something extra: an interlocutor or proxy to courier difficult ideas from the noise in my head to the quietness of a blank page.

Animals have served this role for artists and writers for millennia. Really, almost anything on the other side of the imaginary wall which separates humans from nature can be anthropomorphized in service to disclosing what is too close to see. My interlocutor is my cat, Rosie.

 

Rosie in Bed

Rosie protests
my reading in bed.
She pushes books
out of my hands
and purrs,
“Read me instead!”

 

March 2012

Leave a Reply

