The Flapper Ball

Painted bricks
and the Charleston.
Sequined breasts dancing
down a barrel bar.

John from Jersey City
sent me. I have cash!
Goodness, the smoke.
And hot!

Take this and this
and this and hang them up
and you’re a dear,
and dearer still if you’ll

fill me up.
The glass, silly!
Or my flask if you dare.
Would you dare?

(Perched on planks.
with pendulum heels
and pensive throat.)
Watching my knees?

Never seen inertia?
Don’t get entropy?
Well, sleep on it–
by yourself if you don’t

fill me up.
The glass, silly!
You didn’t even notice
the planks are oak.

Bronx boy,
be a dear.




G W Sisk
Jan, 2014



Leave a Reply

